Go Back

You're my hero!

Written by Izzi on 8/1/2019

We have power

Let’s be mindful of the power we yield over the adventures (the stories) our heroes, the users experience as they interact with the systems we design and build.

In short, the Hero’s Journey consists of 3 main stages: departure, initiation and return, which Campbell further deconstructs in roughly 10 detailed steps.

10 Detailed Steps

  1. The Ordinary World
  2. The Call to Adventure
  3. Cross the First Threshold
  4. Trials, Friends and Foes
  5. Magical Mentor (or the Mentor with Supernatural Aid)
  6. Dragon’s Lair
  7. Moment of Despair
  8. Ultimate Treasure
  9. Homeward Bound
  10. Rebirth & The Champion’s Return.

Our Responsibility

In this series of blog posts, I’d like to consider each step, as helpful reminder of our approach and its influence on our methodology for designing products that turn ordinary users into heroes!